Ventizz study: M&A market for Clean Tech companies despite crisis

September 22, 2009

  • “Green energy” companies are future winners
  • Experts forecasting upswing as early as 2010
  • Financing is number one obstacle to growth

Despite the financial and economic crisis, the market for M&A transactions in the Clean Tech sector is characterized by relentless dynamism. This can be seen in the results of Wiesbaden University of Applied Technology’s current study “Private Equity Investments in Clean Tech”, which was conducted on behalf of Ventizz Private Equity AG. According to the study, this sector is characterized by a stable number of transaction enquiries, high potential purchase prices and the companies’ growing needs for capital.

The study surveyed M&A experts, corporate finance consultants and investment bankers, and found strong investor interest in Clean Tech. Around 50% of the participants in the study stated that the number of enquiries in the first quarter of 2009 was unchanged compared to the same period of the previous year, or even that it had increased. The purchase prices stated by respondents that can be recorded in this sector compared to other sectors remained at a correspondingly high level. In terms of EBITDA, the purchase prices thus identified were multiples of between 4.8 and 9.2.

The professionals surveyed believe that the long-term positive growth drivers in the Clean Tech sector will remain intact. As a result, the majority of the participants in the study believe that there will be an upswing as early as 2010. Those questioned identified the foreseeable scarcity of natural resources and, in particular, state intervention in the form of government programs or subsidies as being the driving forces for further growth in this industry. The experts believe that “green energy” companies in particular will be future winners. In addition to the solar and wind industries, which are already well established, this sector includes, in particular, energy efficiency.

“The participants highlighted financial bottlenecks as being the largest stumbling block for further growth in the Clean Tech sector, and this is in line with our experience,” commented Dr. Helmut Vorndran, Ventizz Private Equity AG’s CEO, summarizing the current situation. According to statements by the investment professionals surveyed, additional capital is needed in particular to expand the existing production capacity. “Clean Tech could grow much faster if it had better access to financing. Especially given current environment, the private equity sector can make a positive contribution in this segment by providing capital," explained Dr. Vorndran, describing the mutual benefits that increased involvement offers. 

When questioned on the criteria that sellers use when deciding to sell their companies, participants stated that the purchase price was the most important single factor. In addition, they also highlighted quality-based characteristics on the part of the investor, such as their track record or management’s knowledge of the market. Dr. Vorndran: “In future-proof industries such as Clean Tech in particular, intelligent capital and competent investors are must-haves for successful company growth.” Ventizz has already ascertained this in the past, and the study’s findings now underscore the importance of quality-based factors. “That means that money is not the sole deciding factor on who wins the bidding,” the CEO highlighted. 

A total of 62 select professionals participated in this expert survey. It was conducted online from April 8, 2009 to May 11, 2009, right in the middle of the current financial crisis, by Wiesbaden University of Applied Technology under the leadership of the private equity expert Prof. Stefan Jugel. A full evaluation of the survey can be downloaded from www.ventizz.de as of today. 

Facts on the M&A market for Clean Tech companies

Robust interest despite financial crisis

Around 20% of participants in the study stated that the number of enquires for M&A transactions increased in the first quarter compared to the previous year. A further 29% reported a constant level of interest.

Above-average multiples in CleanTech sector

In terms of EBITDA, the identified purchase prices were multiples of between 4.8 and 9.2. The maximum purchase price identified was a multiple of 20.

Reason for increasing capital: More output! 

When asked why companies were taking out more capital, around 27% of respondents stated that the funds were needed to increase production capacity. Working capital was stated in almost 23% of the responses.

Financing is the largest bottleneck for further growth

Around 31% of participants stated that financing not being secured was the most common obstacle to growth – which means that this sector is perfectly suited to capital-rich private-equity investors with strong expertise.

“Green energy” is tomorrow’s winner

One in five of the participants (21%) believes that the most successful Clean Tech companies in 2020 will be in the photovoltaic and solar sectors. 16% of participants stated energy efficiency (second place). Taken together, innovative energy generation, saving and storage accounted for around two thirds of the responses.

 

Company profile

Ventizz Capital Partners was formed in 2000 and has offices in St. Gallen and Düsseldorf. Ventizz Capital Partners exclusively advises the Ventizz private equity funds that offer equity capital for the growth of high-tech companies in the German-speaking region. Ventizz has three partners: Dr. Helmut Vorndran, Reinhard Löchner and Willi Mannheims. Together with a team of 13 professionals they currently advise four funds with capital under management totaling EUR 675 million. Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. is the largest of the four funds set up to date. After six months of fund-raising, this fund was closed at the end of 2007 with a volume of EUR 450 million and is thus one of the largest private equity funds for venture capital and medium-sized tech buy outs in the German-speaking region.

To date, Ventizz funds have invested in 31 companies focusing on renewable energy, medical technology, information and communication technology and on other branches of industry offering high value-added. In addition to a large number of trade sales, Ventizz has successfully placed three of its participating interests (ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar) on the stock exchange.



Press Contact VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Phone:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Press releases


     © Copyright 2017 Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Ventizz-Studie: M&A-Markt für „Clean Tech“-Unternehmen trotzt Krise

Download der Studie als PDF (1,4 MB) »

22. September 2009

  • „Green Energy“ Gewinner der Zukunft
  • Experten erwarten Aufschwung schon ab 2010
  • Finanzierung ist Wachstumshindernis Nr. 1

Trotz Finanz- und Konjunkturkrise zeichnet sich der Markt für M&A-Transaktionen im Bereich „Clean Tech“ durch eine ungebrochene Dynamik aus. Dies zeigen die Ergebnisse der aktuellen Studie „Private Equity Investments in Clean Tech“ der Fachhochschule Wiesbaden im Auftrag der Ventizz Private Equity AG. Kennzeichnend für den Bereich sind danach eine stabile Zahl von Transaktionsanfragen, hohe erzielbare Kaufpreise und ein wachsender Kapitalbedarf der Unternehmen.

Im Rahmen einer Expertenbefragung unter M&A- und Corporate-Finance-Beratern sowie Investmentbankern wurde ein robustes Interesse an „Clean Tech“ auf Investorenseite festgestellt. So geben rund 50% der Studienteilnehmer an, dass die Zahl der Anfragen im ersten Quartal 2009 im Vergleich zum Vorjahreszeitraum unverändert oder sogar angestiegen ist. Entsprechend hoch bleiben die angegebenen, zu erzielenden Kaufpreise im Vergleich zu anderen Branchen. Gemessen am Betriebsergebnis vor Zinsen, Steuern und Abschreibungen (EBITDA) bewegten sich die ermittelten Werte in einer Bandbreite zwischen dem 4,8fachen und dem 9,2fachen des EBITDA.

Nach Auffassung der befragten Professionals sind die langfristigen positiven Wachstumstreiber des „Clean Tech“-Bereichs weiter intakt. Daher rechnet das Gros der Studienteilnehmer mit einem Aufschwung schon ab dem Jahr 2010. Als Triebfedern für die weitere Branchenentwicklung identifizieren die Befragten dabei neben der absehbaren Knappheit natürlicher Ressourcen vor allem staatliche Eingriffe mittels Förderprogrammen oder Subventionen. Insbesondere „Green Energy“-Unternehmen werden nach Meinung der Experten zu den Gewinnern der Zukunft gehören. Neben der bereits etablierten Solar- und Windindustrie wird dazu vor allem der Bereich der Energieeffizienz gezählt.

„Als größten Hemmschuh für die weitere Entwicklung des „Clean Tech“-Sektors haben die Teilnehmer Finanzierungsengpässe ausgemacht, dies deckt sich mit unseren Erfahrungen“, fasst Dr. Helmut Vorndran, Präsident des Verwaltungsrats der Ventizz Private Equity AG, die aktuelle Situation zusammen. Nach Aussage der befragten Investment Professionals wird vor allem für den Ausbau der Produktionskapazitäten zusätzliches Kapital benötigt. „Der „Clean Tech“-Bereich könnte noch viel stärker wachsen, wenn der Zugang zu Finanzmitteln besser wäre. Gerade im derzeitigen Umfeld kann die Private-Equity-Branche hier durch Kapitalbereitstellung einen positiven Beitrag leisten“, erläutert Dr. Vorndran den gegenseitigen Nutzen eines verstärkten Engagements. 

Befragt nach den Entscheidungskriterien bei Unternehmensverkäufen, geben die Befragten den Kaufpreis als wichtigsten Einzelaspekt an. Daneben werden qualitative Eigenschaften des Investors wie Track Record oder Marktkenntnis des Managements hervorgehoben. Dazu Dr. Vorndran: „Gerade in Zukunftsindustrien wie „Clean Tech“ sind intelligentes Kapital und kompetente Investoren für eine erfolgreiche Unternehmensentwicklung notwendig.“ Ventizz habe dies bereits in der Vergangenheit festgestellt, der Studienbefund unterstreiche nun die Bedeutung qualitativer Faktoren. „Geld ist daher nicht allein ausschlaggebend bei der Erteilung eines Zuschlags“, hebt der Verwaltungsratspräsident hervor.  

Insgesamt nahmen an dieser Expertenbefragung 62 ausgewählte Professionals teil. Die Erhebung wurde mittels einer Online-Befragung im Zeitraum vom 8. April 2009 bis zum 11. Mai 2009, also mitten in der aktuellen Finanzkrise,  von der Fachhochschule Wiesbaden unter fachlicher Leitung des Private Equity-Experten Prof. Dr. Stefan Jugel durchgeführt. Seit heute ist die vollständige Auswertung der Untersuchung unter www.ventizz.de zum Download verfügbar. 

Fakten zum M&A-Markt für „Clean Tech“-Unternehmen

Robustes Interesse trotz Finanzkrise

Rund 20% der Studienteilnehmer geben an, dass die Zahl der Anfragen nach Unternehmenstransaktion im ersten Quartal im Vergleich zum Vorjahr angestiegen ist. Weitere 29% berichten von einem konstanten Interesse.

Multiples im „Clean Tech“-Bereich überdurchschnittlich

Gemessen am Betriebsergebnis vor Zinsen, Steuern und Abschreibungen (EBITDA) bewegten sich die ermittelten Kaufpreise zwischen dem 4,8fachen und dem 9,2fachen des EBITDA. Zudem lag das ermittelte Maximum beim 20fachen der Kennzahl.

Grund für Kapitalaufnahme: mehr Output! 

Befragt nach den Gründen für die Aufnahme von zusätzlichem Kapital geben rund 27% der Teilnehmer an, dass Mittel für einen Ausbau der Produktionskapazitäten benötigt werden. In knapp 23% der Fälle wird zudem der Bedarf an Working Capital als Grund angeführt.

Finanzierung größter Engpass für weiteres Wachstum

Eine nicht gesicherte Finanzierung gilt für rund 31% der Studienteilnehmer als häufigstes Wachstumshemmnis  – damit ist der Sektor für kapital- und know-how-starke Investoren aus der Private-Equity-Branche optimal geeignet.

„Green Energy“ der Gewinner von morgen

Jeder fünfte Teilnehmer (21%) rechnet damit, dass die erfolgreichsten „Clean Tech“-Unternehmen im Jahr 2020 aus der Photovoltaik- bzw. Solarindustrie stammen. An zweiter Stelle erwarten die Befragten mit 16% den Bereich Energieeffizienz. Insgesamt machen innovative Erzeugung, Einsparung und Speicherung von Energie rund zwei Drittel der Antworten aus.

Unternehmensprofil

Ventizz Capital Partners wurde im Jahr 2000 gegründet und verfügt über Standorte in St. Gallen und Düsseldorf. Ventizz Capital Partners berät exklusiv die Ventizz Private Equity Fonds, die überwiegend im deutschsprachigen Raum Eigenkapital für Wachstum bei High-Tech-Unternehmen zur Verfügung stellen. Die drei Partner von Ventizz, Dr. Helmut Vorndran, Reinhard Löchner und Willi Mannheims, beraten mit einem Team von 13 Professionals zurzeit vier Fonds mit einem Kapitalvolumen von insgesamt 675 Mio. Euro. Der Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. bildet den größten der vier bislang aufgelegten Fonds. Nach einem nur sechsmonatigen Fundraising-Prozess wurde er Ende 2007 mit einem Volumen von 450 Mio. Euro geschlossen und ist damit einer der größten Private Equity Fonds im Bereich Wachstumskapital und mittelgroße Tech-Buy Outs im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Bis heute haben Ventizz-Fonds in 31 Unternehmen mit Fokus auf die Bereiche Erneuerbare Energien, Medizintechnik, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie sowie auf wertschöpfungsintensive Fertigungsindustrien investiert. Neben einer Vielzahl von Trade Sales konnte Ventizz drei Beteiligungsunternehmen (ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar) erfolgreich an der Börse platzieren.


Pressekontakt VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Tel:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Pressemitteilungen


     © Copyright 2016 Vorndran Mannheims Capital